March issue out for sale!


Image | Posted on by | Leave a comment

Theft Of Number Plates And Vehicles

Message sent by: Cheryl Harrison (Police, PCSO C9928, Chipping Norton, Banbury).

We are experiencing a rise in number plate thefts and car thefts in the Chipping Norton area .

Please ensure your car keys are not visible in your property or near the front door. Recently we have had an increase in the theft of motor vehicles in the Chipping Norton area by person(s) either entering the property uninvited and taking car keys, or they are using a method by hooking the keys off free standing side boards, radiator covers or hooks in the hallway via the letter box. keys should be hidden out of sight and not accessible to anyone entering you home.

Number plate thefts are on the increase in the Chipping Norton area, these thefts are often used in crime. We have arranged with Southcombe Garage in Chipping Norton to fit anti theft number plate screws for free, alternatively at Chipping Norton Police Station we have a small supply of the anti theft number plate screws. I can be contacted on 101 number.

PCSO Cheryl Harrison C9928

Posted in news | Leave a comment

February News on sale now!


Image | Posted on by | Leave a comment

Indoor female football (16+)


Image | Posted on by | Leave a comment

Chipping Norton Sports Awards 2018


Town Council wishes to receive nominations for local sports and Olympic legacy awards, for their 8th annual award ceremony, recognising sporting talent in the town.

The awards are sponsored by the Chipping Norton Town Council offering prizes and certificates to the winners.

Last year we received a good amount of nominations and a lot of local people attended the awards night. This year we want to make it even bigger. The awards for 2018 are for sporting achievement in 2017.

Previous winners have included motor racing, skater hockey, golf, football etc.

The awards that will be presented are:

  1. Sportsperson of the Year (18+)
  2. Young Sportsperson of the Year (11-17 year olds)
  3. Younger Sportsperson of the Year (Under 11)
  4. Team Award (18+)
  5. Team Award (11- 17 year olds)
  6. Team Award (under 11)
  7. Club Award (18+)
  8. Club Award Junior Section or School (11-17 year olds)
  9. Club Award Junior Section or School (Under 11)

In addition we have the Olympic Legacy Gold, Silver and Bronze awards set up by Chipping Norton Town Council with the aim of awarding coaches and people who are dedicated to helping sporting clubs in the town. Does your club or organisation have anyone you believe should be considered for either of the above awards? Anyone can be nominated who either lives in the town, works or is educated in the town. Also any child who attends a Chipping Norton Partnership School or anyone who plays a sport or organisation in the town can be nominated. A written nomination needs to be sent to the Guildhall by the 12th January 2018, you can download the nomination form here. We are happy to accept photocopies of this form. Alternatively you can email your nomination to cntc@btconnect.comThe Award Ceremony will take place on 9th February 2018, 7.00 pm – 9.00 pm in the Large Hall, the Town Hall, Chipping Norton.

Posted in news | Leave a comment

Christmas tree recycling

West Oxfordshire District Council is encouraging residents to recycle their real Christmas trees.

Householders already signed up for garden waste collections can simply put them out on their next scheduled garden collection from Tuesday 9 January. Trees should be cut up and placed inside their licensed garden bin. However, if their garden waste bin is full, the tree can cut up and left next to the full bin for collection. Trees larger than 90cm / 3ft should be cut into manageable pieces before putting out.

Alternatively anyone, including those who are not garden waste customers, can take their tree along to the Council’s collection point in New St Car Park 9-11am on Sunday 14 January. All trees will be chipped for free.

Christmas tree chipping in Chipping Norton:

Sunday 14 January – New Street car park, 9 – 11am

All the tree chippings will be taken to the composting facility that processes garden waste.


Posted in news | Leave a comment

Chippy Aldi store opening update

Unfortunately this is a ‘no update’ update.

At noon Aldi UK told us “we are hoping to reopen as soon as possible” and suggested we contact them again tomorrow for an update. That implies the store will not open today (Wed) as they had initially hoped.

If you do find that the store is open tomorrow, or Friday, please let us know.

Posted in news | Leave a comment